Cover Comments November 2012 – Marvel and Image Edition

Welcome to cover comments! A monthly feature where we break down what we think are the best and worst covers the month has to offer.

Like Ardo, I also thought this month with kind of meh for covers. There weren’t too many that really stood out for me, but on the other hand there weren’t that many truly awful ones either. So I guess it all evens out. Here are the ones that did manage to catch my eye.

[MARVEL COMICS]

Infinity #6

INFINITY2013006_Dodsonvar

 Love the colour scheme  – the cooler tones might actually work in its favour and help it stand out on a shelf of incredibly bright, busy covers. Usually on covers like this (with everybody they can fit smushed together) proportions start to waver. For example people’s spine’s seem to disappear, arms come out of nowhere etc. But in this one everyone appears functioning as normal. Nice work.

Avengers #23

AVEN2012023_LFYu

This looks more like an orgy than a fight or explosion or whatever it’s supposed to be. Particularly because of the looks on Black Widow and Thor’s respective faces. And Spider Woman’s boobs seem to have a life of their own. Those problems I was talking about above – here they are.

Avengers Assemble #21

AVNASS2012021_cov

Favourite Marvel Cover of the Month!

Love the bright, almost candy-like colours and how fierce all these fabulous ladies look. I’m going to need to buy this.

Superior Spider Man #22

SupSM2013022cvr

Now I know Spider Man is usually drawn a bit…rubbery. I mean he has to jump off and on building and swing around on his web. But this particular Spider Man looks a little too loose to me. His joints just don’t look right –  it almost looks as though his bones have melted like Harry Potter’s hand during that Qudditch match in the Chamber of Secrets.

Wolverine and the X-Men #38

WOLVXMEN038cov

It’s not surprising to see male superheroes with a ton of impossible muscles. But I’m sorry but his arm is just ridiculous. I burst out laughing every time I look at this.

BONUS: Fearless Defenders #11

FearDefend2013012cov

Another unique and striking cover for the Fearless Defenders ladies. I’m going to miss these 😦

[Image Comics]

Pretty Deadly#2

prettydeadly02-cover

Favourite Image Cover of the Month!

STUNNING! Just everything about it.

Revival #15

revival14_cover

In the midst of superheroes and fantasy and mayhem there’s something to be said for the realistic approach. This cover is expertly drawn and straightforward and the colour palette reflects the mood on the character’s face. Simple but effective.

Todd the Ugliest Kid on Earth #7

todd07_cover

Now I don’t read this comic and it doesn’t really sound like my thing, but I had to give this cover a shout out. Partially because I love the juxtaposition of that adorable little kid sitting on the lap of the devil and partially because the detail in this cover is amazing. Particularly the throne.

Walking Dead #116

walkingdead116_cover

Is it just me or are these covers getting lazier? This looks like they took an earlier picture and copy and pasted it onto another background. It has the cheap feeling of a rushed Photoshop job.

Satellite Sam #5

satellitesam05-NOT-FINAL-COVER

I know some people who really dislike these covers and others who love them but no matter how you feel about them you have to recognize talent. The shading and colourwork is great. It’s possible this may not be the final cover but I hope they keep it.

Definitely not as many stand out covers as there were last month. Overall though I think Marvel definitely takes the prize out of the two. The Marvel ones I liked I REALLY liked. Check out what Ardo thought of the DC and Dark Horse offering here. 

Leave a Reply

