Archives: “Review Spotlight: Forever Evil #1”

Originally published in September 6, 2013.

DC Comics. Written by Geoff Johns. Art by David Finch & Richard Friend. Cover by David Finch & Richard Friend. (1 of 7)

image

I’m always hesitant to read big event issues in comics because they tend to disappoint me. I read the first two issues of the Avengers vs X-Men (AvX) event over at Marvel and dropped it when I realized that it was basically just one big punching contest. I’m relatively new to comics compared to most and I come from a book background as a book blogger so you could imagine the disappointment at the lack of plot. When Trinity War was announced, I had no interest in reading it because I’ve either haven’t read or had dropped all the titles involved and I’m kind of glad I did after reading the wonderfully thorough (and hilarious) summary done by J. Caleb Mozzocco over at Comics Alliance.

I was, however, pleasantly surprised with the story of the first issue of Forever Evil. It takes place right after the events of Trinity War and was entirely dedicated to the recruitment of all the super-villains to the fallen Watchtower where the Crime Syndicate of Earth 3 (alternate universe Justice League but who are evil) pronounced the Justice League dead and promised to give the villains the world if they pledged allegiance (they zapped poor Monocle for speaking out but he does have a point. They DO look a lot like the Justice League). To show off how bad ass they are, they brought out Nightwing who they kidnapped earlier in the comic, outed him as Richard Greyson live and threaten to come for all of the heroes of this world who’s identities they know. Then the sun comes out and Ultraman hissed like a vampire and complained how painful it was before flying up to GRAB THE MOON SO HE CAN BLOCK IT OUT. Wow. Elsewhere, a newly freed Lex Luthor emerges from the helicopter crash he’s just been in to shout out to no one in particular as Ultraman blocks out the sun, “This looks like a job for Superman. SO WHEREIS HE?”

My only problem with this issue is the name of their group: Secret Society. Uh, guys. You’ve just discussed the second half of this comic LIVE to the world. I don’t think being called Secret Society is accurate anymore.

In terms of the art, I’m not a David Finch fan so I wasn’t surprise that the art wasn’t for me. I WAS delighted to see Nightwing in a broken back-esque pose normally attributed to female superheroes. It made me laugh.

image

I like to end with a prediction: I think the villains (or at least some of them) will be the ones to take down the Crime Syndicate or at least go up against them. This was made obvious to me in two ways: 1) That last line uttered by Luther and the fact that he’s not with the rest of the villains and 2) they’re villains. No one tells them what to do least of all evil Justice League.

The next Forever Evil issue is out October 2nd.

By: Ardo Omer

Leave a Reply

